Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish

ISBN-10: 1101997281
ISBN-13: 9781101997284
Author: Cartaya, Pablo
Interest Level: 5-9
Publisher: Penguin Random House

Publication Date: July 2019

Copyright: 2018

Page Count: 288


Paperback
$7.19
Quantity
Icon Add to Wish List Icon Add to Cart
 

Interest Level

Grades 5-9

Reading Level

Guided Reading: V
Lexile: HL580L
Accelerated Reader Level: 3.9
Accelerated Reader Points: 6.0

BISAC Subjects

JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Special Needs

Description
One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos . Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target. After a fight at school leaves Marcus facing suspension, Marcus's mom decides it's time for a change of environment. She takes Marcus and his younger brother to Puerto Rico to spend a week with relatives they don't remember or have never met. But Marcus can't focus knowing that his father--who walked out of their lives ten years ago--is somewhere on the island. So begins Marcus's incredible journey, a series of misadventures that take him all over Puerto Rico in search of his elusive namesake. Marcus doesn't know if he'll ever find his father, but what he ultimately discovers changes his life. And he even learns a bit of Spanish along the way.
Find This And Other Titles Like It In The Following Collections… See All

Complete Expanded Library Grade 8

Complete Refresher Classroom Library Grade 8

CPS Grade 5 Latinx Cultural Infusion Classroom Library

Multicultural Infusion Grade 8