The Case Of The Missing Marquess

ISBN-10: 0142409332
ISBN-13: 9780142409336
Author: Springer, Nancy
Interest Level: 4-7
Publisher: Penguin Random House

Publication Date: November 2007

Copyright: 2006

Page Count: 240

Series: An Enola Holmes Mystery

Star Star Star Star Star

Add to Wish List Icon Add to Cart

Interest Level

Grades 4-7

Reading Level

Guided Reading: Y
Lexile: 960L
Accelerated Reader Level: 6.6
Accelerated Reader Points: 6.0

BISAC Subjects

Mothers; Fiction

Mothers; Fiction

Mothers; Fiction

When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers her mother has disappeared, she quickly embarks on a journey to London in search of her.

Michelle Abeln, Collection Development Specialist

Star Star Star Star Star

10/2/2014 8:57:39 AM
Enola Holmes is Sherlock’s much younger sister. In her first book, The Case of the Missing Marquess, her mother has disappeared, and Enola’s older brothers, Sherlock and Mycroft, decide to send Enola to boarding school. However, Enola has other plans. She escapes to Victorian London where she quickly becomes involved in a kidnapping. Enola is no damsel in distress; she’s a brave and intelligent young woman, fiercely determined to retain her independence in a time when women had little freedom of their own. She solves difficult ciphers, dons many disguises and uses her keen observation skills to not only solve the kidnapping, but also start her own business as a Perditorian (finder of lost things and people)! Enola is a wonderful role model for young women. With an intelligence that rivals her older brother’s, she defies the expectations of both society and her family to not only do what’s right, but to gain and keep her freedom.