A Seed In The Sun

ISBN-10: 0593406621
ISBN-13: 9780593406625
Author: Salazar, Aida
Interest Level: 3-7
Publisher: Penguin Random House

Publication Date: June 2024

Copyright: 2022

Page Count: 272

Star Star Star Star Star


Paperback
$7.19
Quantity
Add to Wish List Icon Add to Cart
 

Interest Level

Grades 3-7

Reading Level

Lexile: NP

BISAC Subjects

JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / United States / 20th Century

JUVENILE FICTION / Stories in Verse (see also Poetry)

Description
A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers' rights in this tender-hearted middle grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan. Lula Viramontes aches to one day become someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling circus. But between working the grape harvest in Delano, California, with her older siblings under dangerous conditions; taking care of her younger siblings and Mamá, who has mysteriously fallen ill; and doing everything she can to avoid Papá's volatile temper, it's hard to hold on to those dreams. . .Then she meets Dolores Huerta, Larry Itliong, and other labor rights activists and realizes she may need to raise her voice sooner rather than later: Farmworkers are striking for better treatment and wages, and whether Lula's family joins them or not will determine their future.
Find This And Other Titles Like It In The Following Collections… See All

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Grade 7

June 2024 New Books

Marginalized Voices Through History Grade 7

New Books In Spanish & English From PRH & Grupo