Una Semilla Al Sol (A Seed In The Sun)

ISBN-10: 1644736268
ISBN-13: 9781644736265
Author: Salazar, Aida
Interest Level: 3-7
Publisher: Penguin Random House Grupo Editorial

Publication Date: November 2023

Copyright: 2022

Page Count: 304

Star Star Star Star Star


Paperback
$12.71
Quantity
Add to Wish List Icon Add to Cart
 

Interest Level

Grades 3-7

Reading Level

Accelerated Reader Level: 4.7
Accelerated Reader Points: 4.0

BISAC Subjects

JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / United States / 20th Century

JUVENILE FICTION / Stories in Verse (see also Poetry)

Description
A young girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for migrant workers' rights in this tender-hearted middle grade novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and PamMuñoz Ryan. Lula Viramontes dreams of one day becoming someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling carpa, like the one she saw years ago while her family was working a harvest in Texas. But when the Teatro Campesino (the official theater company of the United Farm Workers) comes to their encampment in Delano, California, Lula meets activist Dolores Huerta and discovers an even more pressing reason to raise her voice: the upcoming farm workers' strike, an event that will determine her family's future--for better or worse.
Find This And Other Titles Like It In The Following Collections… See All

New Books In Spanish & English From PRH & Grupo

Social Justice & Activism Grades 4-6 Spanish